Conducted research on automated detection of Fusarium head blight (FHB) damaged wheat kernels. FHB causes yield reductions of up to 50% and crop losses in the U.S. have exceeded $1 billion.
The U.S. Quality Grains Research Consortium

NC-213 Executive Committee


Griffiths Atungulu
Associate Professor & Agricultural/Food Engineer
Department of Food Science & Division of Agriculture
The University of Arkansas
2650 North Young Avenue
Fayetteville, Arkansas 72704

(479) 575-6843 e-mail:

Vice Chair 

Paul Armstrong
Research Agricultural Engineer
1515 College Avenue
Manhattan, Kansas 66502
(785) 776-2728 e-mail:


Devin Rose
Associate Professor
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
1901 North 21st Street
Lincoln, Nebraska 68588
(402) 472-2802 e-mail:

Past Chair

Anton Bekkerman
Associate Professor of Economics
Montana State University
205 Linfield Hall - Post Office Box 172920
Bozeman, Montana 59717 
(406) 994-3032 e-mail:

Industry Advisory Committee Chair

Chuck Hill (2012-Present)
AgriGold Hybrids
1173 Woods Lane
Jacksonville, Illinois 62650
(217) 473-6063 e-mail:

Cooperative State Research Service, USDA

Hongda Chen, Ph.D.
1400 Independence Avenue, SW Mail Stop 2220
Washington, DC 20024
(202)402-6497 e-mail:

Administrative Advisor

Gary M. Pierzynski
Asssociate Dean, CFAES Vice President Operating, CFAES

2120 Fyffe Road
106 Agricultural Administration
Columbus, Ohio 43210

(330) 263-3705 e-mail:

The Andersons

Christopher Reed
The Andersons, Inc.
1015 Second Avenue East
Kearney, Nebraska 68847
Office: (419)891-6398

NC-213 Objective Chairs are also a part of the Executive Committee and listed are:

Objective 1:
"To measure, model, and assess factors which influence quality and safety attributes in the post-harvest usage, drying,
handling, and distribution of cereal grains and oilseeds."

Chairs: K.M. Lee, Office of Texas State Chemist, Texas A&M University and Senay Simsek, North Dakota State University

Objective 2:
"To improve management and operational systems to increase efficiency, retain quality, enhance value, and preserve food
safety in the farm-to-user supply chain."

Chairs: Brian Adam, Oklahoma State University and Kaliramesh Siliveru, Kansas State University.

Objective 3:
"To work with multi-institutional colleagues to improve the cereal grain and oilseed supply chain by creating measurable
impacts that preserve quality, increase value, and maintain food safety / food security."

Chairs: R.P. Kingsly Ambrose, Purdue University and Gretchen Mosher, Iowa State University